T E A     T i m e s   ::   a r c h i v e s

  tea » archives » August 9, 2017 email:  


    1. Reminder of new location for August meeting
    2. Nominations for September election during Annual Meeting
    3. 2017-18 Review and update of the TEA Bylaws
    4. Bargaining updates

    1. August Monthly Meeting

    The August Monthly Meeting will be held in Room 4-D on the 4th Floor of the King Street Center.

    2. Request for Nominations for September Election due August 29

    It’s coming up fast! With the Annual Meeting on September 20, nominations for Treasurer, Wastewater Bargaining Chair, Transit Bargaining Chair, and the Chair of the Council of Representatives need to be submitted 15 working days before the meeting, or by August 29. Please submit nominations in writing to a Nominating Committee member before 5 p.m. on Tuesday, August 29. The Nominating Committee members are Alton Gaskill, Jeremy Vining, Hillary Jones, and Mika Kaplan.

    The Nominating Committee will determine that all candidates are full members in good standing and will provide the list of candidates to all representatives by Wednesday, September 6. The representatives will immediately post the list to or for their workgroup.

    Ballots will be distributed by the representatives no later than Wednesday, September 13. To keep the votes anonymous, remember to put the ballot in the unmarked envelope, and to slip that envelope inside the larger envelope, and to sign over the edge of the sealed flap. Drop the ballots into the ballot box at the Secretary's cubicle: Gillian Zacharias, cubicle #4697, south side of the 4th floor, King Street Center up to one hour before the annual meeting, or 11 a.m. on September 20. Ballots may also be hand delivered to Gillian during the first half hour of the Annual Meeting, noon to 12:30 p.m.

    Members who will be unavailable to receive or otherwise cast a vote during the week of September 13-20 may vote by proxy by requesting a proxy form from TEA Secretary Gillian Zacharias. The form should be completed, signed, and returned to Secretary Zacharias prior to the distribution of ballots on September 13. The Proxy's ballot shall be delivered to the Secretary at the General Election.

    These instructions will be repeated in the TEA Times in early September.

    3. 2017-18 Review and Update of the TEA Bylaws

    The TEA Board has decided to create a Bylaw Review Committee to update the TEA Bylaws. TEA currently operates under the version of bylaws created in 2005. The review is intended to fix errors or inconsistencies that have been identified since 2005, and to ensure that the policies and procedures are still relevant, complete, and reflect current conditions. The last time the Board reviewed the bylaws was in 2009, but no changes were made. Some of the proposed changes that were previously identified are related to the following:

    TEA Members who are interested in participating in the review of the bylaws should contact President Gaskill.

    4. Bargaining Unit Updates

    The Wastewater Bargaining Committee is currently waiting for a response from the County to a request for information regarding an issue in an Unfair Labor Practice complaint (ULP) that is relevant to the bargaining unit’s contract.

    The Transit Bargaining Unit’s and County’s briefs on their respective bargaining positions are due to the Interest Arbitrator on August 11th. The filing due date may be changed to August 21st based on information that Arbitrator will not be available to begin reviewing the briefs until the end of August.

    5. Next Monthly Meeting

    The next monthly meeting will be August 16, in room 4-D of the King Street Center from noon to 1 p.m. Please contact Gillian if you have a specific agenda item you’d like to add.

    TEA Board

    Alton Gaskill, President
    Michael Sands, Vice President
    Gillian Zacharias, Secretary
    Elizabeth Wright, Treasurer
    Roger Browne, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
    Jerry Williams, Transit Bargaining Chair
    Ken Madden, Council of Representatives Chair