T E A     T i m e s   ::   a r c h i v e s

  tea » archives ยป June 16, 2017 email:  


  1. Wastewater Bargaining update
  2. VEBA
  3. Vacancies Filled
  4. Committee Memberships
  5. Next Regular Meeting

Wastewater Bargaining update

Items discussed at the May 3rd meeting were managers' pay levels, upping the cap for dues for professional organizations, and the use of HAZWOPPER certifications. The County submitted a partial proposal for review by the TEA WTD Bargaining Committee at the May 23rd meeting. A request to arbitrate the grievance regarding JLMIC has been submitted. The next negotiation session is set for June 29.

Transit Arbitration Hearing

Transit's arbitration hearing was held last week, June 5-9, and is continued to Monday, June 26. The planned last day of the hearing will see Roger Browne testify on health care benefits and Transit will present its closing remarks. Members are welcome to attend the hearing. The Bargaining Team has copies of the submitted materials for its use at the hearing. We did not order a general member copy of the eight 5-inch binders (8,000+ pages) because we didn't know whether non-Board members were planning to attend, and the copying cost would have been approximately $1,000. If there is an interest in seeing what was submitted into the record, please contact your TEA Representative. Next steps: King County and TEA have 60 days (not counting any requested extensions) to submit a final statement. The Arbitrator has 60 days to make a decision. Realistically, we don't expect new wage rates to show up in paychecks until January 2018. In the past, retroactive pay has shown up mid-year.


Members at the May 17 meeting discussed the pros and cons of going to a vote on whether to discontinue participating in VEBA. Roger Browne said TEA should have an agreement with the County before going to a vote. Members who are eligible to retire from King County by 2019 can acquaint themselves with VEBA at King County's HRA VEBA web page.

Vacancies Filled

The Grievance Committee should be fully staffed by the time of the next Monthly Meeting. Four new volunteers have stepped forward for the Board to vote on: Soojin Kim and Amir Moazzami from Transit; and Chad Merrill and Hillary Jones from Wastewater. Thanks to those members willing to spend their "spare" time on this important function.

Committee Memberships

Current Committee members are:

Next Regular Meeting

The next meeting will be Wednesday, June 21, at the usual location: Harappa & Cloaca Maxima Conference rooms, 5th Floor, KSC

TEA Board

Alton Gaskill, President
Michael Sands, Vice President
Gillian Zacharias, Secretary
Elizabeth Wright, Treasurer
Roger Browne, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
Jerry Williams, Transit Bargaining Chair
Ken Madden, Council of Representatives Chair