T E A     T i m e s   ::   a r c h i v e s

  tea » archives ยป November 22, 2013 email:  

A Change to the Voting Process on the Transit TA and MOA

Transit Staff met on Wednesday, November 20th, from 12-1pm in room 4D to review and discuss the latest Contract Proposal/Tentative Agreement (TA) and the related Memorandum of Agreement (MOA).

The major item of discussion was the wording/description of the voting choices on the "green" ballot that was distributed to Transit members earlier this week. Members requested that the ballot be revised to make it clear that by voting to accept the TA, one is also voting to accept the terms of the MOA.

Quick Review: the Transit Bargaining Team has reached a tentative agreement (TA) on a 1-year roll-over contract for 2014. The TA includes a small COLA for 2014 and maintains the 2013 medical plans. The TA also includes a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) that was crafted by King County to bind the Transit bargaining process to an accelerated schedule for the 2015 contract. The MOA has not been signed by TEA and it will not be signed unless the Transit members vote to accept the TA.

A link to the TA and MOA, (including a side agreement to address HIPAA), is posted on the TEA website. www.teaseattle.org

Members present the meeting asked for the ballot to be revised in order to clarify the implication of voting to accept or reject the TA. They also asked that the due-date for the ballots be extended to Wednesday, December 11th to accommodate the change to the voting process.

As a result, the ballots are being revised and will be distributed shortly. Ballots will be due at noon on December 11th. The new ballots and envelopes will be different to clearly distinguish them from the earlier ones.

A hearty 'thank you' all the Transit TEA members who participated in this important process.

TEA Board

Adé Franklin, President
Ken Madden, Vice President
Roger Browne, Secretary
Jerry Williams, Treasurer
Alton Gaskill, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
Elizabeth Wright, Transit Bargaining Chair
Don Marable, Council of Reps. Chair