T E A     T i m e s   ::   a r c h i v e s

  tea » archives ยป November 06, 2013 email:  


  1. TEA November Monthly Meeting
  2. New TEA Officer Positions for 2013-2014
  3. Transit Contract Proposal and Vote
  4. WW Contract Negotiations
  5. Members in need of Leave Donations

1. TEA November General Meeting

The November monthly meeting will be held on Wednesday, November 20, in the Harappa and Cloaca Conference Rooms, Floor 5, King Street Center from 12-1pm. All members are most welcome. Send agenda items to the President or Secretary. Monthly member meetings are generally scheduled for the third Wednesday of the month.

2. Welcome to new TEA Officer Positions

The annual Election of Officers was held at the TEA Annual meeting on 9/18. The following officers were elected by those members present:

3. Transit Contract Negotiations

TEA Transit bargaining team has negotiated and reached a tentative agreement with the Office of Labor Relations for a one year "roll over" of the existing contract. The current Transit staff contract will expire on December 31, 2013 and the "roll over" will extend the contract to December 31, 2014.The text of the agreement will be posted on the TEA website and TEA will be conducting a vote on the proposed contract. A meeting to discuss the agreement will be held on Thursday, November 14th at KSC in rooms 3DE. Please plan to attend.

The ratification vote will be by paper ballots which are due to a TEA officer by noon on December 4th. Ballots will be distributed by the Council of Reps to all transit members.

4. Wastewater Bargaining

The Wastewater (WW) staff and supervisors contract will expire December 31, 2014. TEA members have already started to submit great ideas for bargaining of the new WW staff and supervisor Collective Bargaining Agreements (COB). WW Bargaining Committee(s) and teams will be in full swing in the first quarter of 2014.

Alton Gaskill is the newly elected WW Bargaining Chair. Please let him know if you have any bargaining items or would like to participate in the Bargaining Committee. Bargaining Committee meetings will be scheduled starting in 2014.

5. Leave Donations Needed

Eric Mendenhall, WW Water Quality Planner/Project Manager, and Steve Rosane, Transit Project Control Engineer, are in need of leave donations. Please donate if you can. Contact your HR Department for the Leave Request Form.

TEA Board

Adé Franklin, President
Ken Madden, Vice President
Roger Browne, Secretary
Jerry Williams, Treasurer
Alton Gaskill, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
Elizabeth Wright, Transit Bargaining Chair
Don Marable, Council of Reps. Chair