T E A     T i m e s   ::   a r c h i v e s

  tea » archives ยป August 16, 2013 email:  


  1. TEA Monthly Meetings
  2. Nomination and Election of Officers
  3. Transit Contract Negotiations
  4. VEBA
  5. Welcome! - TEA members transfer from WW to Transit

1. TEA Monthly Meetings

Monthly member meetings are scheduled for the third Wednesday of the month. The August monthly meeting will be held on Wednesday, August 21, in the Harappa Conference Room, Floor 5, King Street Center from 12-1PM. All members are welcome. Send agenda items to the President or Secretary.

The September monthly member meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, September 18; the meeting location will be announced in the next TEA Times.

2. Nomination and Election of Officers

The TEA governing Board consists of seven Officer positions. The Bylaws call for alternating annual elections, three positions one year, and four positions the next year. This year, the following four positions are up for election:

Duties and responsibilities for each position are posted on the TEA website. If you have specific questions, please contact any current Officer.

Nominations are currently being accepted. Members can nominate themselves or nominate another member. Nominations can be sent to any current Officer.

Elections will be conducted by confidential ballots which will be tallied at the Annual Meeting scheduled for October 16.

3. Transit Contract Negotiations

The Transit staff contract expires on December 31 this year. TEA has been preparing for negotiations with the County in advance of the expiration date. Bargaining issues can be submitted to the Transit Bargaining Chair, Elizabeth Wright. The first bargaining session with the County is scheduled for September 12.


Earlier this year, King County notified TEA (and other unions) that the optional $50/month VEBA election would not be available in 2014. TEA challenged the County's decision on behalf of the WW Supervisor's Bargaining Unit that has repeatedly voted to elect this option.

On August 7, Patti Cole Tindall, Director of the Office of Labor Relations, sent out a clarifying letter that essentially confirms the challenge that TEA raised and re-instates the $50/month VEBA election option for groups that vote for it.

The bottom line is that the $50/month VEBA contribution will continue to be available at least thru 2014.

5. Welcome to Transit

TEA is happy to announce that Velma Valdez Montez and Mika Kaplan have joined the Mechanical Engineering Design group in Transit. Many of you know first-hand the excellent work that Velma and Mika have contributed while working in the Wastewater Treatment Division; now Transit has the opportunity to benefit from their design/engineering skills and knowledge. Congratulations to you both!

TEA Board

Adé Franklin, President
Ken Madden, Vice President
Roger Browne, Secretary
Jerry Williams, Treasurer
John Phillips, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
Elizabeth Wright, Transit Bargaining Chair
Alton Gaskill, Council of Reps. Chair