T E A     T i m e s   ::   a r c h i v e s

  tea » archives ยป July 16, 2012 email:  


1. July Monthly meeting

Will be July 18th in North & South Wind conference rooms, 7th floor KSC. 12 Noon

Topics in this newsletter will be covered in more detail at the monthly meeting as needed, and the usual suspects like a treasurer report will make an appearance. Hope to see you there!

2. Bargaining updates

Wastewater Contracts

This month, TEA and King County have come to a tentative agreement on proceeding with the TEA contract for Wastewater Staff and Supervisors. Over the next few weeks TEA will work with the Office of Labor Relations to revise both contracts with new terms. Once the new contract is available for both bargaining units TEA will schedule a combined vote. The TEA bylaws outline a minimum of 15 days before a vote can be held once the revised contracts are available.

At this time, we should recognize the efforts of the negotiating team consisting of Ade Franklin, Roger Browne, John Phillips, Velma Valdez-Montez and Jim Cline. A joint salary survey was conducted as a part of this bargaining effort.

Here is a summary of the tentative agreement:

Transit Contract Update

Transit TEA members received a special TEA Times announcing a tentative agreement on their contract. The draft CBA is waiting on the County furlough lawyers who wanted (after negotiations were complete) last minute changes in the language that would cause the wastewater contracts to be re-negotiated. We expect them to drop this issue shortly. Look for a contract ratification package soon. If you have any questions or want to discuss the latest rumors, please see Elizabeth Wright.

3. Leave Requests

Steve Rosane has exhausted his leave balances and his donated leave (thanks for donating!). He has a continuing need for any leave you can donate, thanks.

4. VEBA Ballot Results

All VEBA options were rejected save one, Wastewater Supervisors retained their $50 per month contribution to a VEBA account. This is the same result as the last vote, for those who track such things...

TEA Board

Adé Franklin, President
Ken Madden, Vice President
Roger Browne, Secretary
Jerry Williams, Treasurer
John Phillips, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
Elizabeth Wright, Transit Bargaining Chair
Alton Gaskill, Council of Reps. Chair