T E A     T i m e s   ::   a r c h i v e s

  tea » archives ยป April 05, 2011 email:  

Transit Bargaining

The first session of contract bargaining occurred on Thursday, March 31, from 10 - 1:30. The TEA Transit Bargaining Team included: Jerry Williams, Garrett Stronks, Isaiah Pullet, Colin Asquith, and attorney Jim Cline. TEA President Ade Franklin also attended. King County's Bargaining Team included: Jim Meith, Randy Witt, Chris Egan and Berneta Walraven. Both sides exchanged "Opening Proposals". The contract proposals did not include specific wage data, as both sides remain "open" to bargaining retro wage adjustments and COLA. Interesting to note - both sides proposed the same contract duration: 2008-2013. King County offered a list of ground-rules to guide future meetings.

Keep in mind the opening proposals are subject to change during the bargaining process. Future meetings are scheduled for April 21, April 28, May 5, May 13.

Survey for Transit Bargaining

The TEA Transit Bargaining Committee developed, distributed, collected and analyzed a survey of Transit members in March. The Committee received 34 survey responses and met on March 21 to discuss the findings and incorporate the results into the opening contract proposal. Survey results will also be used during the bargaining process to evaluate "what-if" proposals by King County.

TEA Board

Adé Franklin, President
Ken Madden, Vice President
Roger Browne, Secretary
Terry Browne, Treasurer
John Phillips, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
Jerry Williams, Transit Bargaining Chair
Alton Gaskill, Council of Reps. Chair