tea » tea archives » July 27 2009 email:  


T i m e s

July 27 2009


  1. VEBA Vote - Ballots Due 7/29
  2. Labor - Management Meeting to Discuss 2010 Budget Crisis

1.  VEBA Vote - Ballots Due Wednesday, 7/29

Last call for VEBA ballots.  Ballots are due to TEA Secretary Ken Madden by COB July 29.  Everyone has something at stake:  Those eligible to retire can choose to contribute 35% SL and 50% VL balances to a Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) upon retirement; those who are not yet eligible to retire can choose to contribute $50/month to an HRA.  Based on voting rules established by King County, participation in the HRA-VEBA must be determined on a Bargaining Unit-by-Bargaining Unit vote.

Here's the current status of responses:

   WW Supervisor Bargaining Unit -  6 responses/17 members (35%)             

   WW Staff Bargaining Unit      - 48 responses/216 members (22%)

   Transit Staff Bargaining Unit - 33 responses/60 members (55%)             

Based on the County's rules, individual items on the ballot will be determined by the majority of respondents in each Bargaining Unit.  So it's important for everyone to express their preference by voting.

All TEA members in good standing are eligible to vote.  Those who are eligible to retire in the 2010 - 2012 timeframe are eligible to vote for the 35% sick leave and 50% vacation leave contributions.  All TEA members get to vote on the optional $50/month contribution.

You can learn more about VEBA at the following website - http://www.kingcounty.gov/employees/benefits/VEBAvote.aspx

Vote results will be reported on Thursday, July 30th.

2.  Hiring Freeze

Emergency Ordinance Adopted by King County Council

On Monday, July 20, 2009 the King County Council adopted an emergency ordinance instituting a hiring freeze for the balance of 2009.  Because it is an "emergency ordinance", it became effective immediately according to Council staff.  A copy of the full text of the ordinance is available on the King County Council website.

TEA Board

   Roger Browne, President
   Adé Franklin, Vice President
   Ken Madden, Secretary
   Terry Browne, Treasurer
   Eric Davison, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
   Jerry Williams, Transit Bargaining Chair
   John Phillips, Council of Reps. Chair