

# Technical Employees' Association of King County

TEA	Wastewater	Transit	TEA Bylaws	Contact us
-----	------------	---------	------------	------------

# December 6, 2018

#### **Annual Meeting**

The Annual Meeting was held December 5, 2018, from noon to 1 p.m. Members were casting ballots right up until the 12:30 deadline.

Thank you to Mike Sands for organizing the food and drink! Thanks also to Alton Gaskill, Mike Sands, Alex Wolak and Gillian Zacharias for cleanup to put room to rights in time for the meeting that followed—thankfully people arrived a bit late to that meeting!

A huge thank you for Gillian Zacharias, TEA Secretary, for outstanding service as TEA Secretary for 2017 & 2018 (plus an additional two months). Additionally, Gillian chaired the Bylaws Committee, which completed major TEA bylaws revisions over months of hard work. Getting this work done was a tremendous accomplishment!

### **Election Results:**

Many thanks to Roger Browne, TEA Wastewater Bargaining Chair, for completing difficult negotiations on our two Wastewater contracts for 2017 &mdash 2020.

Only one Board position, that of Vice President, was contested, so only votes for that position were tallied. The positions for President and Secretary were uncontested, so Alton Gaskill will continue as President; and JR Meksavanh is the new TEA Secretary. Congratulations to the successful candidates!

The bylaws amendments passed by a large margin. There were 171 votes cast, with 155 voting in favor on all three groups of bylaws changes, and 15 opposed on Groups #1 and #2, and 16 opposed on Group #3. The bylaws amendments were adopted.

Big thanks to our volunteer vote counters Scott Mingus, Rebecca Gauff, Velma Valdez, Jennifer Ash and Tsengyang Vang, who contributed many total hours of their time to count the ballots.

		Vice		Bylaws		Bylaws		Bylaws		
		President		Group #1		Group #2		Group #3		
		Hien	Mike							Total
		Dung	Sands	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	ballots
		78	107	155	15	155	15	155	16	188
2 ballots	disqualified	for voting	g on an i	nvalid ba	allot forr	n (Nove	mber ins	tead of	Decemb	er)
4 ballots	disqualified	l for no na	ame on e	either en	velope					
WW Staff contract										
yes	No									
141	2									
WW Supervisor										
contract										
yes	No									
15	0									

#### President's message:

Today I met with Hien Dung to discuss the election and state of TEA. We talked at length about her perspective, informed by members she has talked to over the last months. Her feedback was: (1) Members may not have felt that TEA has included them, or has not been responsive to their questions and concerns; (2) TEA members care about their union

representation. They want to see opportunities to be engaged, and be kept informed about what TEA is doing, at the bargaining table and in union discourse, especially in terms of their wages, benefits, and working conditions. Hien and I brainstormed some areas of improvements for a better future state for TEA. We agreed that the election was testimonial that new approaches are necessary. We talked about a path forward that will truly move TEA in the direction of engagement, communication, a win-win bargaining strategy, and highlight the benefit of a voice in TEA. I am asking that Hein continue to meet with me, and you, on a regular basis to nurture these idea and work on ones that may bear fruit. Hien will follow up this email soon with her own message to the members. Thank you, Hien.

 Alton Gaskill, TEA President

# **TEA Board**

Alton Gaskill, President Michael Sands, Vice President JR Meksavan, Secretary Sally Turner, Treasurer Roger Browne, Wastewater Bargaining Chair Jerry Williams, Transit Bargaining Chair Ken Madden, Council of Representatives Chair