tea tea times: November 2, 1999 email: teaseattle  

TEA Times

4th Anniversary Membership Meeting

The TEA 4-year Anniversary meeting was held on October 26th at the Elliott Bay Bookstore meeting room. Fifty (50) TEA members attended.

Topics discussed:
  • TEA history and current legal status
  • financial report
  • Bylaws
  • election of board members
  • nominating committee
  • brainstorm for future actions
  • Q & A

Election of Officers of the Board
    In accordance with the bylaws, elections for the following five positions are currently open for nominations:

  • President
  • 1st Vice President
  • 2nd Vice President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer

Duties and responsibilities for each office are fully described in the Bylaws.

Copies of the Bylaws are available; please contact anyone who attended the Anniversary meeting or Ken Madden for a copy.

Nomination Committee:
    In accordance with the Bylaws, a panel of three, plus the Secretary, have been identified to fulfill the duties of an impartial nominating committee:

  • Mike Clark
  • Duc Dang
  • Christine Sankwich
  • Severne Johnson

Please submit board nominations to any one on the nominating committee.

Election Schedule:

The Bylaws set the duration of activities for the nomination and voting process; please refer to the Bylaws for specific details. Here is an overview:

  1. October 26, 1999 - Nominating committee introduced and nominating process begins
  2. November 12, 1999 - Nominations close
  3. November 15-26, 1999 - Voting ballots prepared and distributed
  4. November 29 - December 7, 1999 - Voting for Officers of the Board
  5. December 7, 1999 - Voting ends at 11am; Ballots opened at 12pm during TEA Annual Meeting