T E A     T i m e s   ::   a r c h i v e s

  tea » archives » October 7, 2013 email:  


  1. TEA Annual Meeting
  2. Nomination and Election of Officers
  3. Transit Contract Negotiations
  4. Wastewater Contract Negotiations
  5. Members in need of Leave Donations

1. TEA Annual Meeting

The October monthly meeting has been designated the 2013 annual meeting and Officer elections will take place. The meeting will be held on Wednesday, October 16, in the Harappa and Cloaca Conference Rooms, Floor 5, King Street Center from 12-1pm. All members are welcome to attend. Refreshments will be served!

2. Nomination and Election of Officers

The TEA governing Board consists of seven Officers. The Bylaws call for alternating annual elections, three positions one year, and four positions the next year. Duties and responsibilities for each position are posted on the TEA website under bylaws. This year, nominations for the following four positions are up for election are:

Nominations closed on October 4th. The nominated candidates will run unopposed. Therefore, elections will be conducted by a hand vote at the Annual Meeting scheduled for October 16th, as provided for in the TEA Bylaws.

3. Transit Contract Negotiations

The Transit staff contract expires on December 31st this year. TEA has been preparing for negotiations with the County in advance of the expiration date. Bargaining issues can be submitted to the Transit Bargaining Chair, Elizabeth Wright. The first bargaining session with the County was held on September 12th. The next bargaining session is scheduled for October15th.

4. Wastewater Contract Negotiations

The Wastewater (WW) staff and supervisors contract will expire December 31, 2014. TEA members have already started to submit great ideas for bargaining of the new Wastewater staff and supervisor Collective Bargaining Agreements (COB). Wastewater Bargaining Committee(s) and teams will be in full swing in the first quarter of 2014.

5. Leave Donations Requested

Kate Kurtz, Wastewater Resource Reuse Project Manager, is in need of leave donations.

Steve Rosane, Transit Project Control Engineer, is in need of leave donations.

Please donate if you can. Contact your HR department for Leave Request Form.

TEA Board

Adé Franklin, President
Ken Madden, Vice President
Roger Browne, Secretary
Jerry Williams, Treasurer
John Phillips, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
Elizabeth Wright, Transit Bargaining Chair
Alton Gaskill, Council of Reps. Chair