tea » tea times: January 30 2008 email: teaseattle  


T i m e s

January 30 2008


  1. February Meeting Schedule
  2. Wastewater Contract Bargaining Update
  3. Transit Contract Bargaining Update
  4. Announcements
  5. Job Notices
  6. Advertisements

1. February Meeting Schedule

    February  5 - WW Bargaining Committee, 12-1, 5F
    February  6 - Board Meeting, 12-1, KSC 4G
    February 13 - Monthly Meeting 12-1, 5 B/C
    February tba - Council of Representatives Meeting, 12-1pm, 8J
    February 20 - Board Meeting, 12-1, KSC 4G
    February 26 - Grievance Committee

2. Wastewater Contract Bargaining Update

Wastewater Supervisors voted to approve the County's contract offer and HRD has forwarded the contract on to the Council for approval.

The newly formed Wastewater Bargaining Committee is soliciting bargaining issues. These issues will be added to the following list by the Bargaining Committee and redistributed to the Bargaining Unit so that members can rank the 10 issues, which are most important to them. The 10 highest-ranking issues will be presented by the Bargaining Team to the County during bargaining for the 7/1/08 to 6/30/11 contracts.

This BARGAINING ISSUES list is a compilation of new issues and issues that were denied by the County during previous contract bargaining.

  1. Classification rewrites (Feb-April 2008 rewrite, May TEA review, June Human Resources Department (HRD) adoption) (new)
  2. Salary Study (Admin. reopener & Supervisor - Management Study) (Feb-April 2008 data gathering, May match comparable to new classifications, June bargain salaries) (new)
  3. Management Study effects on Supervisor Salaries (new)
  4. Certification updates (new)
  5. Modify COLA formula/index (new)
  6. Advertise acting and lead positions prior to appointments (new)
  7. Contract Implementation Time Table clause (new)
  8. CASH OUT - vacation leave (VL) over 480 hours (yearly)
  9. CASH OUT - sick leave (SL) on separation
  10. CASH OUT - Convert SL greater than 100 hrs to VL up to a maximum of 120 hours
  11. Allow use of VL for SL with no restrictions (new)
  12. Extend or remove expiration of donated leave (currently a reopener)
  13. Standby time
  14. Non-exempt vacation bonus similar to executive leave
  15. Night time pay differential
  16. Release time definition modification (County management not required to attend)
  17. Replace merit pay with longevity pay or 5% maximum (per Personnel Guidelines)
  18. Strengthen "Contracting Out" provisions
  19. Transit Pass on retirement
  20. Term Limited Temporary (TLT)'s rehired within 6 months have SL Balance restored
  21. Change STAFF CONTRACT to reflect Supervisor language change in (Article 3)
  22. Modify Article 6.3A: remove "up to 8 hours" replace with "shall receive 8 hours".

The Bargaining Committee will recommend a 4-member bargaining team and alternates to the TEA Board. The Bargaining Team consists of the Chair (Eric Davison), the President (Roger Browne) and 2 other Wastewater members. If you are interested in being on the Bargaining Team, submit a notification of interest by the end of business Monday, February 4, 2008 to Eric Davison.

3. Transit Contract Bargaining Update

The arbitration for the Transit Staff contract is scheduled for the week of April 14-18. Arbitrator Michael Beck is scheduled for the hearing. The Transit arbitration team is working with TEA's attorney Jim Cline to prepare for the arbitration hearing. The hearing will be open to TEA members.

4. Announcements

Leave Donation Request - Shoji Oiye is in need of sick leave donations. He is currently undergoing intensive chemotherapy treatment and has an upcoming stem cell replacement procedure that has to be done and is out of sick leave. Please contact Cindy Haueisen if you have any questions on how to help Shoji. Thank you!

5. Advertisements

TEA members can post classified ads for free. Send classified ads to TEA Secretary Ken Madden <ken.madden@kingcounty.gov>.

TEA Board

    Roger Browne, President
    Ade Franklin, Vice President
    Ken Madden, Secretary
    Terry Browne, Treasurer
    Eric Davison, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
    Jerry Williams, Transit Bargaining Chair
    John Phillips, Council of Reps. Chair