tea » tea times: August 16 2007 email: teaseattle  


T i m e s

August 16 2007


  1. August & September Meeting Schedule
  2. Transit Supervisor's Contract Vote Results
  3. Nominating Committee Members Approved
  4. Call for Candidates for Board Elections
  5. Transit Staff Contract Certified for Arbitration
  6. Announcements
  7. Classifieds

1. August and September Meeting Schedule

       August 27  Wastewater Supervisor's Contract Vote
       August 28  Grievance Committee

    September  5  Board Meeting, 12-1, KSC 4G

    September 12  Board Meeting, 12-1, KSC 4G
    September 13  Council of Reps Meeting, 12-1, 8J

    September 18  Candidate Forum, TBA

    September 25  Grievance Committee
    September 26  Annual Membership Meeting, 12-1, KSC Rm 7044/7045

2. Transit Supervisor's Contract Vote Results

The Transit Supervisor Bargaining Unit voted 9-0 on August 16th to accept King County's amended contract proposal.

3. Nominating Committee Members Approved

Volunteers for the Nominating Committee were requested in the August 3rd TEA Times. Several volunteers stepped forward to serve this important function. At the Board meeting on August 8th, the following members of the Nominating Committee were approved:

Duc Dang, Gary Ikeda, Roberta Kelly, Don Marable, Eric Mandel
Committee Chair, Roger Browne

4. Call for Candidates for Board Elections

In accordance with the Bylaws, Board elections are held at the Annual Meeting in September. The Board has set the date for the 2007 Annual Meeting on September 26th. This year, the following officer positions are open for election:

  • Treasurer
  • WTD Bargaining Chair
  • Transit Bargaining Chair
  • Council Chair

Position descriptions (roles and responsibilities) and election rules are available in the TEA Bylaws which are posted on the TEA website. If you are interested in running for one of the open Board positions, or if you want to nominate a co-worker, please contact a member of the Nominating Committee (Duc Dang, Gary Ikeda, Roberta Kelly, Don Marable, Eric Mandel or Committee Chair, Roger Browne). The nomination process will close 15 work days before the Annual Meeting: September 5th at 4pm. Candidates will then have an option to post a candidate statement in the TEA Times and attend a candidate forum prior to the Annual Meeting. Ballots will be distributed at least 5 work days prior to the Annual Meeting. Volunteers at the Annual Meeting will tally the ballots.

If you have any questions regarding the election process, please contact TEA Secretary Ken Madden.

5. Transit Staff Contract Certified for Arbitration

The Transit Staff Contract negotiation was certified for Arbitration on July 31, 2007. Copies of the certification letter were distributed at the August 15th monthly TEA meeting. Copies are also available from the TEA Secretary. The next step in the Arbitration process is for both sides to select an Arbitrator and solicit information (such as wage data) to be presented during the Arbitration. The dates for the Arbitration Hearing will depend on the schedule and availability of the Arbitrator. TEA anticipates the Arbitration process may take 4-6 months to complete. The Transit Bargaining Team will keep you posted as the Arbitration process progresses.

6. Announcements

Retirement Information

TEA members may want to familiarize themselves with recent changes to the PERS rules that were approved in the recent 2007 Legislative session. Here is a link to the State's web page.

Job Opportunities

The Design & Construction Section has posted the following position:

Transit Engineer III (Electrical Engineer) - position recently vacated by Josh Pelman
Job Announcement No: 07MC7081
Opens: 8/13/07
Closes: 9/13/07 (The announcement currently lists 8/27/07 as the closing date; it will be revised to reflect the 9/13/07 closing date.
This position is open to all qualified applicants.

Leave Donation Request

Casey Plank, Education Outreach Coordinator with Community Relations in Wastewater is in need of leave donations. Please use King County's Leave Donation form and return it to Jennifer Tawatao to assist in routing for signature approval.

7. Classified Ads

TEA members can post classified ads for free. Send classified ads to the, TEA Secretary, ken.madden@metrokc.gov

TEA Board

Roger Browne, President
Ade Franklin, Vice President
Ken Madden, Secretary
Keven Sandquist, Treasurer
Eric Davison, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
Dave Crippen, Transit Bargaining Chair
John Phillips, Council of Reps. Chair