tea » tea times: July 28 2004 email: teaseattle  


T i m e s

July 28 2004

August Meeting Schedule

August  3 Board Business Meeting (12-1pm, 5F)
August 10 Board Business Meeting (12-1pm, 5F)
August 17 Board Business Meeting (12-1pm, 5F)
August 18 Monthly TEA Meeting (12-1pm, Elliott Bay Cafe)
August 24 Board Business Meeting (12-1pm, 5F)
August 31 Board Business Meeting (12-1pm, 5F)

Results of Vote on WTD Contract

The results of the vote on WTD contract today (7/28/04) resulted in support of the proposed contract by a vote of 156 for, 23 no, 1 abstention.  There were six ballots that were disqualified because there was either no name on the envelope or no signature on the back of the envelope.  Additionally a couple of ballots were turned in after the time for voting had passed and were not counted.

The next step is to notify King County Human Resources.  The contract will undergo some internal routing and make its way to the County Council's Labor, Operations and Technology Committee for their review and approval.  The earliest this would happen is August 24, followed by Council and County Executive approval.  We anticipate checks sometime in October.

Thanks to members of the WTD Negotiating Committee for all of their hard work and donated time.

(Team: Roger Browne, Ken Madden; Dave Crippen; Kim Kingsbury; Adé Franklin; and alternates Wyatt Wood, Dan Sturgill, Duc Dang, Bob Swarner, Shahrzad Namini, Mark Lucas, Bill Wilbert)

Nominations Sought for TEA Officer Positions

A slate of candidates is to be presented by the Nominating Committee for election at the Annual TEA Meeting in September.  This election cycle there are three TEA officer positions are up for election:  President, 1st Vice President, and Secretary.  See the TEA website for a list of duties and responsibilities for each position.  Individuals can nominate themselves or a co-worker.

Please send nominations to the Nominating Committee by August 24.

Members of the Committee are: Doug Robertson, WTD; Duc Dang, WTD; Don Campbell, Transit; and Ken Madden, Chair.