1. September Meeting Schedule
  2. Presentation of Slate of Candidates for Officer Positions
  3. VEBA Vote
  4. Correction on Grievance Rights for TLTs
  5. "Exempt" Employee Clarification

September Meeting Schedule

Sept 5   TR Bargaining Team (12-1, 4G)
Sept 6 Board Business Meeting (12-1, 4G)
Sept 7 WTD Mediation (All Day)
Sept 11 (Tentative) TEA Candidate Forum (12-1, KSC 7044/7045)
Sept 12 TR Bargaining Team (12-1, 4G)
Sept 12 Council of Reps. (12-1, 4D)
Sept 13 Board Business Meeting (12-1, 4G)
Sept 19 WTD Mediation (All Day)
Sept 20 Annual TEA Meeting (12-1:30 pm, 8th Floor Conference Center, Street Center) - Vote on Officers
Sept 25 TR Mediation (All Day)
Sept 26 TR Bargaining Team (12-1, 4G)
Sept 27 VEBA Vote/Ballots Due to Secretary by 12 noon
Sept 27 Board Business Meeting (12-1, 4G)

Presentation of Slate of Candidates for TEA Officer Positions for Election at September 20 Annual Meeting

The Nominating Committee is pleased to present the following slate of candidates for officer elections at the Annual TEA Meeting on Wednesday, September 20:

President: Roger Browne, Eric Mandel
Vice President: Adé Franklin
Secretary: Diane Fjarlie, Ken Madden, Marilyn Toth

The Committee has set up a "Meet the Candidates Forum" tentatively scheduled for noon September 11th in King Street Center rooms 7044/7045. Information will be sent out separately on this meeting. This is a chance for members to meet the candidates and ask questions prior to voting.

Ballots will be distributed to the Council of Representatives at their noon meeting on Tuesday, September 12 to distribute to work unit employees.

Thanks again to the Nominating Committee members Eileen D'Amelio, Christy Sanders-Meena, Doug Williams, and Eric Mandel.

VEBA Vote Reminder

As announced previously, only those TEA members eligible to retire in the 2007-2009 time period will be voting on whether to adopt the County's VEBA offer for the next three years (2007-2009). If you have questions about whether you are retirement eligible, you should check with the state DRS. Also you can refer to the County's web page for more details about this proposed benefit for retirees at www.metrokc.gov/employees/benefits/hraveba/ .

Please refer to the following deadlines:

Please notify Patty ASAP at 263-5006 if you are going to be absent during this timeframe. You have the option of requesting an absentee ballot or a Proxy allowing another person to vote for you on this issue.

Note that because this vote involves relatively few people within each of the four TEA Bargaining Units (the Transit and Wastewater Staff and Supervisor groups), a remote possibility exists that one or more of the four will result in a tie vote. In this case, those eligible to vote (per prior notification) will be asked to have a second tie-breaker vote the next day. Should there still be a tie, the Bargaining Team representing that unit(s) will recommend to the Board a decision, which the Board will then vote on. Hopefully none of this contingency tie vote planning will be necessary!

Correction on Grievance Rights for TLTs

At the last monthly member meeting, Roger Browne noted that Wastewater TLTs have no grievance rights under the contract, but upon further review this is not strictly the case. Under certain circumstances, a grievance from TLTs may be pursued by TEA so long as just cause provisions are not invoked.  TLTs are specifically prevented from grieving discipline and discharge under the Just Cause standard.

Clarification of "Exempt" Employee

There have been a lot of questions asked of the Board on the definition of "Exempt" employees, what it means in terms of working hours, use of sick leave etc.

Come to the Annual Meeting on September 20 and Roger Browne will be giving a presentation with a handout on this topic.


Classified Ads
(TEA members can post classified ads for free. Send classified ads to Patty Overby, TEA Secretary at (patty.overby@metrokc.gov)

TEA Board

Eric Mandel, President
Adé Franklin, Vice President
Patty Overby, Secretary
Keven Sandquist, Treasurer
Roger Browne, Wastewater Bargaining Chair
Dave Crippen, Transit Bargaining Chair
John Phillips, Council of Reps. Chair